Useful Links

 

Here are some websites and groups that members have found useful in their job search.  There is information from the Department of Labor, general and industry specific job boards, newspaper career sections, blogs, company research, networking resources, salary information, social media, helpful yahoo groups and local resources.

·         NJ Department of Labor Information

o   NJ DOL  - http://lwd.dol.state.nj.us/labor/

o   Unemployment Insurance -  http://www.njuifile.net

o   Job Seekers Page - http://jobs4jersey.com/jobs4jersey/jobseekers/

§  Includes job fairs, government jobs, occupational explorer

o   NJ Employment Job Bank (on ramp) - https://webos.dol.state.nj.us/Career/Login.aspx

 

·         US Bureau of Labor Statistics

o   http://www.bls.gov/home.htm

 

·         Newspaper Career Areas

o   Wall St Journal - http://online.wsj.com/public/page/news-career-jobs.html

o   NY Times - http://jobmarket.nytimes.com/pages/jobs/

o   NJ. Com - http://www.nj.com/jobs/

o   North Jersey.com - http://jobs.northjersey.com/home/

 

·         Local Library Resources

o   NJ Clicks (multiple databases including job search and refUSA)- http://www.jerseyclicks.org/homepages/jclicks/jclicksclassic.asp

o   Morris County - http://www.gti.net/mocolib1/jobs.html

o   Don’t forget to check with your local librarian

 

·         On Line Learning

o   Microsoft - http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/training/default.aspx

o   EdX  - https://www.edx.org

o   GCF Free - http://www.gcflearnfree.org

o   Lynda - http://www.lynda.com/

o   E-learners - http://www.elearners.com/courses/

o   Open Culture - http://www.openculture.com/freeonlinecourses

o   Kahn Academy - http://www.khanacademy.org/

o   Udemy - https://www.udemy.com/

 


Useful Links – Where to find job listings

 

Here are a number of generic and industry specific job boards.  There is also a link for a listing of staffing agencies in NJ.  This is just the tip of the iceberg.  New ones pop up all the time.

 

It has been suggested by a number of sources that you “update” your resume each week on these sites to keep your resume near the top of the search results.  You can “update” it by changing a word or adding a space.

 

You can also set up email alerts on many of these sites. Test them and see which ones give you the best results in your search. 

 

If you come across what looks to be a good position see if you can find it on the company’s website and apply directly.

 

·         Job Boards

o   General  Job Boards

§  Monster - http://www.monster.com/

§  Career Builder - http://www.careerbuilder.com

§  Indeed - http://www.indeed.com/

§  Simply Hired - http://www.simplyhired.com/

§  Craig’s List - http://newyork.craigslist.org/jsy/

o   Industry Specific

§  IT – Dice - http://www.dice.com, http://www.devbistro.com/

§  Finance - http://www.efinancialcareers.com  , http://www.roberthalffinance.com/

§  Pharma – http://www.biospace.com/jobs/homepage/

§  Advertising, Marketing, Media, PR, and Design - http://www.talentzoo.com/

§  Marketing – http://www.marketingjobs.com/

§  Non-Profit – http://www.idealist.org

§  Engineering – http://www.engcen.com

§  Green – http://jobs.greenbiz.com/, http://www.greencareersguide.com/

§  Digital Media & Online Marketing - http://jobs.paidcontent.org/

o   Part-Time/Temporary/Consulting

§  Snag a Job – http://www.SnagAJob.com

§  Solo Gig - http://www.sologig.com/

§  Odd Job Nation - http://oddjobnation.com/

§  Net Temps - http://www.net-temps.com/

§  Groove Job - http://www.groovejob.com/

§  Consulting Jobs - http://www.consultantjobs.com/

 

·         Staffing Agencies in NJ - http://www.njsa.com/

 

 

Useful Links – Where to find information about companies and industries

 

You can use these links to find out what is going on in business and with specific companies.  You can also go directly to a company’s website to find out more about them.  Remember though it was probably written by their marketing department.  Use your favorite search engine to also find out information.

 

You can also set a Google Alert on a company.   Google Alerts are email updates of the latest relevant Google results (web, news, etc.) based on your choice of query or topic.

 

 

·         General Resources

o   The Riley Guide - www.rileyguide.com

o   Weddles - http://www.weddles.com/

 

·         Company Research

o   Reference USA – Go to www.jerseyclicks.com and enter your Library Card Number.  Click on Reference USA icon.

o   D & B - http://www.dnb.com/us/

o   Hoovers - http://www.hoovers.com/

o   Vault - http://www.vault.com

o   Walkers - http://www.walkersresearch.com/  

o   Manta (small businesses) - http://www.manta.com/

o   Guidestar (non-profits) - http://www2.guidestar.org/

o   Glassdoor - http://www.glassdoor.com/index.htm

 

·         Other Business Resources

o   NJ Biz - http://www.njbiz.com

o   Cranes NY - http://www.crainsnewyork.com/

o   Reuters - http://www.reuters.com/finance

 

·         Salary Information

o   Salary Expert - http://www.salaryexpert.com/

o   Salary.com  - http://www.salary.com/

o   Payscale - http://www.payscale.com/

 

·         Google Alerts - http://www.google.com/alerts

 


Useful Links – Networking and New Media

 

We all know how important networking is.  Make sure you have your elevator pitch down and get out there and meet people.  There are plenty of places to network professionally and socially.

 

Also get onto LinkedIn if you are not already there.  Join groups if you have not already done that.  Alumni groups of where you went to school and where you worked are a good start.  There are general job seeking ones and industry ones.  Many of them list jobs. 

 

·         Networking   

o   Landing Expert - http://www.landingexpert.com/

o   Benardo’s List - http://newyork.bernardoslist.com/

o   Envite Me – Local events, not job related - http://www.eventme.com/

o   Weddles Assoication Directory - http://www.weddles.com/associations/index.cfm

o   Toastmasters - http://www.toastmasters.org/

o   Meetup (mostly non-career) - http://www.meetup.com/find/

 

·         Blogs

o   Absolutely Abby - http://www.absolutelyabby.com/

o   Top 50 Career Blogs - http://www.invesp.com/blog-rank/Careers

o   Interns Over 40 - http://internsover40.blogspot.com/

o   Personal Branding - http://www.personalbrandingblog.com/

o   Work Coach Café - http://www.workcoachcafe.com/

o   About.com - http://jobsearch.about.com/

o   JibberJobber - http://www.jibberjobber.com/blog/

o   Careerealism - http://www.careerealism.com/

o   Ask the Headhunter - http://corcodilos.com/blog/

o   Business Insider - http://www.businessinsider.com/careers

 

·         Yahoo Groups

o   NNJ_PIT

o   Newjerseynetworkers

o   AbsolutelyJobLeads-East

o   Career Connections Consortium (CCC)

 

·         Social Media

o   Linked-In - http://www.linkedin.com/

§  Learn LinkedIn - http://learn.linkedin.com/

o   Twitter - http://twitter.com/

§  Twitter Guidebook - http://mashable.com/guidebook/twitter/

o   Facebook - http://www.facebook.com/